Launching and inception workshop

The objectives of the inception workshop is to create connections between interested parties for policy dialogue and to provide a conceptual framework for assessing the effects of trade on employment.

As decided at Launching and Inception workshop, ILO requested MOLIP to form Policy Working Group in line with TOR draft for the creation of the STRENGTHEN Project Policy Working Group (PWG). MOLIP nominated the chairman and 3 members for PWG from DOL and sent request letter to the project stakeholder institutions asking for the representative to serve as members for PWG.

The STRENGTHEN Policy Working Group (PWG) serves as the tripartite technical-level and consultative advisory working group and committee that will monitor the implementation of the project’s activities and programmes in Myanmar. The main role of the PWG is to have discussions on trade and employment based on the evidences and findings generated from the project’s studies and activities, formulate policy recommendations based on the discussions and raise submit or forward these recommendations to the relevant government committees, bodies or agencies for their information and consideration.

The Policy Working Group (PWG) are U Aung Htay Win, Deputy Director General, Department of Labour, MOLIP, as chairman and the members are:
1. U Kyaw Kyaw Lwin, Director, DOL, MOLIP
2. Daw Tin Tin Htay, Director, DOL, MOLIP
3. Daw Sandar Aye, Director, DOL, MOLIP
4. Dr. Zaw Min Naing, Director, MOE
5. Daw Shwe Sin Oo, Director, MOC
6. Daw Aye Myat Myat Soe, Deputy Director, MOI
7. U Myint Oo, Director, Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Irrigation MOALI
8. Daw Thida Htwe, Assistant Director, MOPF
9. U Phyo Nrwe Thin Lwin, Research Associate, Myanmar Development Institute
10. U Maung Maung, Chairman, Confederation of Trade Unions of Myanmar CTUM
11. U Naing Thein Aung, Secretary,The Agriculture and Farmer Federation of Myanmar - Trade Unions Federation AFFM-TUF
12. U Aye Naing Soe, Secretary, Yangon Division, Myanmar Industries Craft & Services Trade Unions Federation MICS-TUsF
13. U Tin Myint, Vice Chairman, Myanmar Pulses, Beans and Sesame Seeds Merchants Association MPBSMA
14. U Min Soe Han, Labour Officer, Myanmar Garment Manufacturers Association MGMA
15. U Maung Maung Swe, Vice Chaiman, Myanmar Tourism Federation
16. U Win Myint Tun, Joint Secretary, Myanmar Construction Entrepreneurs Association, Mandalay Region