

GB.299/1 299th Session

Geneva, June 2007

## FOR DECISION

FIRST ITEM ON THE AGENDA

# Election of the Officers of the Governing Body for 2007–08

**1.** The Governing Body will be required to elect its Officers in accordance with the following provisions of article 1 of its Standing Orders:

#### ARTICLE 1

Officers

1. The Officers shall consist of a Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen chosen one from each of the three groups. Only regular members of the Governing Body may be elected Officers.

2. The Officers shall be elected at a sitting of the Governing Body held at the close of the annual session of the International Labour Conference and shall hold office from their election until the election of their successors.

3. The Chairman shall not become re-eligible until three years after he ceases to hold office.

- **2.** For the convenience of members of the Governing Body a list of former Chairpersons is appended.
- **3.** The Governing Body is requested to elect its Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons for the coming year.

Geneva, 10 April 2007.

Point for decision: Paragraph 3.

## Appendix

### List of Chairpersons of the Governing Body of the ILO

Mr Arthur FONTAINE	France <sup>1</sup>	1919–31
Mr Ernest MAHAIM	Belgium <sup>1</sup>	1931–32
Sir Atul CHATTERJEE	India <sup>1</sup>	1932–33
Mr C.V. BRAMSNAES	Denmark <sup>2</sup>	1933–34
Mr Giuseppe de MICHELIS	Italy <sup>1</sup>	1934–35
Mr Walter RIDDELL	Canada <sup>1</sup>	1935–36
Mr Jaromir NECAS	Czechoslovakia <sup>2</sup>	1936–37
Mr (later Sir) Frederick LEGGETT	United Kingdom <sup>1</sup>	1937–38
Mr Paal BERG	Norway <sup>2</sup>	1938–39
Mr Carter GOODRICH	United States <sup>1</sup>	1939–45
Mr (later Sir) Guildhaume MYRDDIN-EVANS	United Kingdom <sup>1</sup>	1945–47
Mr Luis ALVARADO	Peru <sup>2</sup>	1947–48
Mr Shamaldharee LALL	India <sup>1</sup>	1948–49
Mr Léon-Eli TROCLET	Belgium <sup>2</sup>	1950–51
Mr Paul RAMADIER	France <sup>1</sup>	1951–52
Mr Fernando CISTERNAS	Chile <sup>2</sup>	1952
Mr Fernando GARCIA OLDINI	Chile <sup>2</sup>	1953
Mr A.M. MALIK	Pakistan <sup>2</sup>	1953–54
Mr Roberto AGO	Italy <sup>1</sup>	1954–55
Mr Arthur H. BROWN	Canada <sup>1</sup>	1955–56
Sir Guildhaume MYRDDIN-EVANS	United Kingdom <sup>1</sup>	1956–57
Mr Emilio CALDERON PUIG	Mexico <sup>2</sup>	1957–58
Mr Júlio A. BARBOZA-CARNEIRO	Brazil <sup>2</sup>	1958–59
Mr Ernst MICHANEK	Sweden <sup>2</sup>	1959–60
Mr George C. LODGE	United States <sup>1</sup>	1960–61
Mr S.T. MERANI	India <sup>1</sup>	1961–62
Mr Alexandre PARODI	France <sup>1</sup>	1962–63
Mr Emilio CALDERON PUIG	Mexico <sup>2</sup>	1963–64
Mr George V. HAYTHORNE	Canada <sup>1</sup>	1964–65
Mr Oumar Baba DIARRA	Mali <sup>2</sup>	1965–66
Mr Morio AOKI	Japan <sup>1</sup>	1966–67
Mr Roberto AGO	Italy <sup>1</sup>	1967–68
Mr George L.P. WEAVER	United States <sup>1</sup>	1968–69

<sup>1</sup> One of the States of chief industrial importance.

<sup>2</sup> Elected State.

Mr Héctor GROS ESPIELL	Uruguay <sup>2</sup>	1969–70
Mr S.O. KOKU	Nigeria <sup>2</sup>	1970–71
Mr Umarjadi NJOTOWIJONO	Indonesia <sup>2</sup>	1971–72
Mr John MAINWARING	Canada <sup>1</sup>	1972–73
Mr Arturo MUÑOZ LEDO	Mexico <sup>2</sup>	1973–74
Mr Mohamed Al-Arbi KHATTABI	Morocco <sup>2</sup>	1974–75
Mr P.H. (later Sir Halford) COOK	Australia <sup>2</sup>	1975–76
Mr Winfrid HAASE	Fed. Rep. of Germany <sup>1</sup>	1976–77
Mr Joseph MORRIS (Canada)	Worker member	1977–78
Mr Héctor CHARRY SAMPER	Colombia <sup>2</sup>	1978–79
Mr Paul DONTSOP	United Rep. of Cameroon <sup>2</sup>	1979–80
Mr Vijit SANGTONG	Thailand <sup>2</sup>	1980-81
Mr Gabriel VENTEJOL	France <sup>1</sup>	1981-82
Miss Aída GONZALEZ MARTINEZ	Mexico <sup>2</sup>	1982-83
Mr Titus K.B. MBATHI	Kenya <sup>2</sup>	1983
Mr Robert J. OUKO	Kenya <sup>2</sup>	1983–84
Mr B.G. DESHMUKH	India <sup>1</sup>	1984–85
Mr JJ. OECHSLIN (France)	Employer member	1985–86
Mr W.R.B. ROBINSON	United Kingdom <sup>1</sup>	1986–87
Mr M.V. RUSSOMANO	Brazil <sup>1</sup>	1987–88
Mr N.G. MENSAH	Benin <sup>2</sup>	1988–89
Mr D.G. POULTER	Australia <sup>2</sup>	1989–90
Mr G. MUHR (Germany)	Worker member	1990–91
Mr Y. CHOTARD	France <sup>1</sup>	1991–92
Mr M. VARGAS CAMPOS	Mexico <sup>2</sup>	1992–93
Mr J.L. NKOMO	Zimbabwe <sup>2</sup>	1993–94
Mrs M. Nieves ROLDAN-CONFESOR	Philippines <sup>2</sup>	1994–95
Mr Y. CHOTARD	France <sup>1</sup>	1995–96
Mr J. ARRATE MAC NIVEN	Chile <sup>2</sup>	1996–97
Mr A.A. EL AMAWY	Egypt <sup>2</sup>	1997–98
Mr N. AKAO	Japan <sup>1</sup>	1998–99
Mr JJ. ELMIGER	Switzerland <sup>2</sup>	1999–2000
Mr C. AMORIM	Brazil <sup>1</sup>	2000-01
Mr A.L. TOU	Burkina Faso <sup>2</sup>	2001-02
Lord BRETT (United Kingdom)	Worker member	2002–03
Mr EY. CHUNG	Republic of Korea <sup>2</sup>	2003-04
Mr P. SÉGUIN	France <sup>1</sup>	2004–05
Mr C.A. TOMADA	Argentina <sup>2</sup>	2005-06
Mr M.M.S. MDLADLANA	South Africa <sup>2</sup>	2006–07

<sup>1</sup> One of the States of chief industrial importance.

<sup>2</sup> Elected State.