Go to Home page Home | FAQs | Contact us 
World Commission on the Social Dimension of Globalization


H.E. Ms. Tarja Halonen
President of the Republic of Finland

H.E Mr. Benjamin Mkapa
President of the United Republic of Tanzania
Giuliano Amato - Italy
Vice-President of the Constitutional Convention of the European Union and former Prime Minister of Italy.

Ruth C.L. Cardoso - Brazil
Former First Lady of Brazil and President of the Comunidade Solidaria Council (Community Solidarity Council).

Heba Handoussa - Egypt
Managing Director of the Economic Research Forum for the Arab countries, Iran and Turkey and member of the Shura Council, Egypt's Upper House of Parliament.

Eveline Herfkens - Netherlands
Former Minister for Development Cooperation from 1998 to 2002. The UN Secretary-General's Executive Coordinator of the Millennium Development Goals Campaign.

Ann McLaughlin Korologos - United States
Vice Chair of the Rand Corporation, Senior Advisor to Benedetto, Gartland and Company, an investment banking firm in New York and member of the Board of various corporations.

Lu Mai - China
Secretary-General of the China Development Research Foundation since 1998.

Valentina Matvienko - Russian Federation
Presidential Representative in the Northwestern Federal District of the Russian Federation.

Deepak Nayyar - India
Vice Chancellor of the University of Delhi and Chair of the Board of Governors of the UNU World Institute for Development Economics Research, Helsinki.

Taizo Nishimuro - Japan
Chairman of the Board of Toshiba Corporation and Vice Chair of the Japan Business Federation.

François Perigot - France
President of the International Organization of Employers (IOE) since June 2001. President of MEDEF International, the International Branch of the French Employers' Association and member of the Board of several French companies.

Surin Pitsuwan - Thailand
Member of Parliament and former Minister of Foreign Affairs, member of the Commission on Human Security and a regular columnist for major newspapers in Thailand and in the region.

Julio Maria Sanguinetti - Uruguay
President of the Circulo de Montevideo and former President of the Republic of Uruguay.

Hernando de Soto - Peru
President of the Institute for Liberty and Democracy and influential author of best-selling books on economic policy.

Joseph Stiglitz - United States
Professor of Economics, Business and International Affairs, at Columbia University. Joseph Stiglitz received the Nobel Prize for Economics in 2001.

John J. Sweeney - United States
President of the American Federation of Labour and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO).

Victoria Tauli-Corpuz - Philippines
The founder and Executive Director of Tebtebba Foundation (Indigenous Peoples' International Center for Policy Research and Education), and expert and advisor on indigenous peoples' and gender issues.

Aminata D. Traoré - Mali
Author and Director of Centre Amadou Hanyrat Ba (CAHBA), one of the organizations of the African Social Forum.

Zwelinzima Vavi - South Africa
General Secretary of Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU).

Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker - Germany
Scientist, member of the German Bundestag and Chair of the Environment Committee of the German Bundestag.

Ex officio members
Bill Brett - United Kingdom
Chairperson of the Governing Body of the ILO for 2002-2003, member of the Workers' group of the ILO Governing Body and member of the House of Lords (UK).

Eui-yong Chung - Republic of Korea
Chairperson of the Governing Body of the ILO for 2003-2004. Ambassador and Permanent Representative of the Republic of Korea to the United Nations and other international organizations in Geneva.

Daniel Funes de Rioja - Argentina
Vice Chairperson of the ILO Governing Body and Chairperson of the Employers' group, Vice President of the International Organisation of Employers and Chairman of the Business Technical Committee in Labour Affairs of the American States Organization.

Juan Somavia - Chile
Director-General of the ILO. Mr. Somavia has had a long and distinguished career in civil and international affairs and holds numerous citations and awards for his work regarding peace, human rights and social development.

Alain Ludovic Tou - Burkina Faso
Chairperson of the ILO Governing Body (2001-2002), member of the ILO Governing Body and Minister of Employment, Labour and Social Security of Burkina Faso.

The Commission
How it works
The Secretariat
The Secretariat's tasks
Global consultations
Policy topics
The Social Dimension of Globalization
Press Releases

Established by the ILO
 Updated 6 Aug. 2003