France - ILO Cooperation

France is a founding member State of the ILO and has ratified numerous ILO Conventions, including the eight Fundamental Conventions, four Governance Conventions and 115 Technical Conventions.

In addition to assessed contributions, France supports ILO objectives through its voluntary contribution to ILO’s development cooperation programme. These contributions are mainly channelled through the French Ministry of Labour and the Agence Francaise de Développement (AFD). France is one of the top 20 contributors of voluntary funding to the ILO.

France's strategic contributions to the ILO

France funds the ILO through:

  • Assessed contributions to ILO's Regular Budget paid by all ILO Member States by virtue of their membership. Between 2018 and 2022, France contributed US$ 89.0 million.
  • Voluntary core funding contributions provided by nine ILO donors as a pool of un-earmarked, flexible resources allocated by the ILO to strategic areas and emerging priorities. From 2020 to 2022, France contributed US$ 1.1 million.
  • Voluntary, non-core funding contributions earmarked for priority themes and projects. From 2018 to 2022, France contributed US$ 21.3 million.
France's financial contributions to the ILO, 2018-22 (US$ 111.4 million)

France’s support to ILO interventions

The ILO currently implements programmes in Côte d’Ivoire, Madagascar, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal and Tunisia as well as special initiatives in Africa and the global level with development cooperation funding from France. A number of professional secondments to the ILO are also supported by France.

France’s Priorities in International Development

France aligns its development policy to the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. France’s development assistance is focused on the following areas:
  • The fight against climate change and the preservation of the environment;
  • Human development and gender equality;
  • Economic development for social progress;
  • Strengthening human rights, stability and peace.
The French Government invests at least 50 per cent of its development cooperation funds in the following countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Haiti, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, and Senegal.