A Review of Skills Levy Systems in Countries of the Southern African Development Community

This review focuses on levy-financed training funds in eight Southern African Development Community (SADC) countries: Botswana, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. It is based on an analysis of secondary data and studies, an online survey, and in-depth interviews with 34 key stakeholders in these eight countries, from government, from the organizations managing the training funds, from workers’ organizations and from employers’ organizations.