INTERNATIONAL LABOUR OFFICE

Governing Body

321st Session, Geneva, 13 June 2014



GB.321/INS/1

Institutional Section INS

Date: 4 June 2014 Original: English

FIRST ITEM ON THE AGENDA

Election of the Officers of the Governing Body for 2014–15

1. The Governing Body will be required to elect its Officers in accordance with the following provisions of article 2.1 of its Standing Orders:

ARTICLE 2.1

Officers

- 2.1.1. The Officers shall consist of a Chairperson and two Vice-Chairpersons chosen one from each of the three groups. Only regular members of the Governing Body may be elected Officers.
- 2.1.1bis The Officers shall be responsible for the proper conduct of work of the Governing Body.
- 2.1.2. The Officers shall be elected at a sitting of the Governing Body held at the close of the annual session of the International Labour Conference and shall hold office from their election until the election of their successors.
- 2.1.3. The Chairperson shall not become re-eligible until three years after ceasing to hold office.
- 2.1.4. A member elected to fill a vacancy caused by the death or resignation of an Officer shall sit for the unexpired portion of the term of office of the previous incumbent.
- 2.1.5. The Director-General of the International Labour Office shall undertake the formation of a secretariat for the Governing Body.
- **2.** For the convenience of members of the Governing Body, a list of former Chairpersons is appended.

Draft decision

3. The Governing Body elects its Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons for the coming year.

Appendix

List of Chairpersons of the Governing Body of the ILO

Mr Arthur FONTAINE	France ¹	1919–31
Mr Ernest MAHAIM	Belgium ¹	1931–32
Sir Atul CHATTERJEE	India ¹	1932–33
Mr C.V. BRAMSNAES	Denmark ²	1933–34
Mr Giuseppe de MICHELIS	Italy ¹	1934–35
Mr Walter RIDDELL	Canada ¹	1935–36
Mr Jaromir NECAS	Czechoslovakia ²	1936–37
Mr (later Sir Frederick) LEGGETT	United Kingdom ¹	1937–38
Mr Paal BERG	Norway ²	1938–39
Mr Carter GOODRICH	United States ¹	1939–45
Mr (later Sir Guildhaume) MYRDDIN-EVANS	United Kingdom ¹	1945–47
Mr Luis ALVARADO	Peru ²	1947–48
Mr Shamaldharee LALL	India ¹	1948–49
Mr Léon-Eli TROCLET	Belgium ²	1950–51
Mr Paul RAMADIER	France ¹	1951–52
Mr Fernando CISTERNAS	Chile ²	1952
Mr Fernando GARCIA OLDINI	Chile ²	1953
Mr A.M. MALIK	Pakistan ²	1953–54
Mr Roberto AGO	Italy ¹	1954–55
Mr Arthur H. BROWN	Canada ¹	1955–56
Sir Guildhaume MYRDDIN-EVANS	United Kingdom ¹	1956–57
Mr Emilio CALDERON PUIG	Mexico ²	1957–58
Mr Júlio A. BARBOZA-CARNEIRO	Brazil ²	1958–59
Mr Ernst MICHANEK	Sweden ²	1959–60
Mr George C. LODGE	United States ¹	1960–61
Mr S.T. MERANI	India ¹	1961–62
Mr Alexandre PARODI	France ¹	1962–63
Mr Emilio CALDERON PUIG	Mexico ²	1963–64
Mr George V. HAYTHORNE	Canada ¹	1964–65
Mr Oumar Baba DIARRA	Mali ²	1965–66
Mr Morio AOKI	Japan ¹	1966–67

¹ State of chief industrial importance.

² Elected State.

Mr Roberto AGO	Italy ¹	1967–68
Mr George L.P. WEAVER	United States ¹	1968–69
Mr Héctor GROS ESPIELL	Uruguay ²	1969–70
Mr S.O. KOKU	Nigeria ²	1970–71
Mr Umarjadi NJOTOWIJONO	Indonesia ²	1971–72
Mr John MAINWARING	Canada ¹	1972–73
Mr Arturo MUÑOZ LEDO	Mexico ²	1973–74
Mr Mohamed Al-Arbi KHATTABI	Morocco ²	1974–75
Mr P.H. (later Sir Halford) COOK	Australia ²	1975–76
Mr Winfrid HAASE	Fed. Rep. of Germany 1	1976–77
Mr Joseph MORRIS (Canada)	Worker member	1977–78
Mr Héctor CHARRY SAMPER	Colombia ²	1978–79
Mr Paul DONTSOP	United Rep. of Cameroon ²	1979–80
Mr Vijit SANGTONG	Thailand ²	1980-81
Mr Gabriel VENTEJOL	France ¹	1981-82
Miss Aída GONZALEZ MARTINEZ	Mexico ²	1982-83
Mr Titus K.B. MBATHI	Kenya ²	1983
Mr Robert J. OUKO	Kenya ²	1983-84
Mr B.G. DESHMUKH	India ¹	1984–85
Mr JJ. OECHSLIN (France)	Employer member	1985–86
Mr W.R.B. ROBINSON	United Kingdom ¹	1986–87
Mr M.V. RUSSOMANO	Brazil 1	1987–88
Mr N.G. MENSAH	Benin ²	1988–89
Mr D.G. POULTER	Australia ²	1989–90
Mr G. MUHR (Germany)	Worker member	1990–91
Mr Y. CHOTARD	France ¹	1991–92
Mr M. VARGAS CAMPOS	Mexico ²	1992–93
Mr J.L. NKOMO	Zimbabwe ²	1993–94
Mrs M. Nieves ROLDAN-CONFESOR	Philippines ²	1994–95
Mr Y. CHOTARD	France ¹	1995–96
Mr J. ARRATE MAC NIVEN	Chile ²	1996–97
Mr A.A. EL AMAWY	Egypt ²	1997–98
Mr N. AKAO	Japan ¹	1998–99
Mr JJ. ELMIGER	Switzerland ²	1999–2000
Mr C. AMORIM	Brazil ¹	2000-01

¹ State of chief industrial importance.

² Elected State.

Mr A.L. TOU	Burkina Faso ²	2001–02
Lord BRETT (United Kingdom)	Worker member	2002-03
Mr EY. CHUNG	Republic of Korea ²	2003-04
Mr P. SÉGUIN	France ¹	2004–05
Mr C.A. TOMADA	Argentina ²	2005–06
Mr M.M.S. MDLADLANA	South Africa ²	2006–07
Mr D. JAYATILLEKA	Sri Lanka ²	2007-08
Mr Z. RAPACKI	Poland ²	2008-09
Ms M.N. FARANI AZEVÊDO	Brazil ¹	2009-10
Mr A. JEMAL	Tunisia ²	2010
Mr J. M. MATJILA	South Africa ²	2011
Mr G. VINES	Australia ²	2011-12
Mr G. de ROBIEN	France ¹	2012-13
Ms V.M. VELÁSQUEZ DE AVILÉS	El Salvador ²	2013-14

¹ State of chief industrial importance.

² Elected State.