Countries covered

The ILO's tripartite structure makes it unique among the UN organizations. In the ILO, both the employers' and the workers' representatives have an equal voice with those of the governments, in shaping its policies and programmes, resulting in meaningful cooperation amongst the social partners. One of the main functions of the ILO is adoption of International Labour Standards in the form of International Labour Conventions and Recommendations.

ILO, being a Specialized Agency of the United Nations system, seeks to work complimentarily within the objectives of the United Nations Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF) and the MDGs. ILO also proactively engages with development partners, particularly to inform the processes of their country programmes.

The Decent Work Technical Support Team for South Asia and Country Office for India (DWT/CO-New Delhi) is based in New Delhi. The Decent Work Technical Support Team for South Asia covers seven countries in South Asia namely, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka. The primary function is to provide technical and advisory services on policies and technical issues related to labour and employment to the tripartite constituents of the ILO within the ILO's core mandate. The Decent Work Country Programme (DWCP) formulated and adopted by the constituents at the national level through a process of tripartite consultation is the framework for ILO’s assistance to the constituents in these countries.

In addition, technical advisory services are also provided as and when required through ongoing UN Programmes to Bhutan, a non-member country in the sub-region.