The ILO has its own development cooperation programme, denominated technical cooperation programme. It is structured around the four decent work objectives: job creation, rights at work, social protection and social dialogue.

With over 50 years of experience, the ILO now conducts more than 700 technical cooperation projects in more than 100 countries, with the help of 120 development partners. 

Belgium (including Flanders and Wallonia-Brussels), the Netherlands, Luxembourg and the European Commission are generous donors to the ILO’s technical cooperation programme.

The ILO technical cooperation programme is financed through three main funding sources:
  • Regular Budget (RB): the assessed contributions from the ILO member states
  • Regular Budget Supplementary Account (RBSA): un-earmarked voluntary contributions to increase the ILO's capacity to deliver on the priorities set out in the ILO Programme and Budget. RBSA resources are allocated to ODA-eligible countries (list established by the OECD Development Assistance Committee). The Netherlands and Belgium have made RBSA contributions in recent years.
  • Extra-Budgetary Technical Cooperation programmes (XBTC): project funding, contributions by donors to specific projects with a determined timeline, and defined geographic and thematic focus. Cooperation between the EU, Flanders, Luxembourg and the ILO has been based on this funding modality.