Belgium (federal state)

Focus of Belgian development cooperation

Belgian bilateral development cooperation focuses on 14 priority countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, DR Congo, Guinea, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Niger, Palestinian Territory, Rwanda, Senegal, Tanzania and Uganda.

It has seven priority themes: humanitarian aid, inclusive growth, social development, climate and environment, consolidation of society and conflict prevention, development education and digital for development. 

Belgium as ILO donor

The management of the Belgian development cooperation programmes is entrusted to the Directorate-General for Development Cooperation and Humanitarian Aid (DGD) of the Belgian Federal Public Service (FPS) Foreign Affairs. The ILO holds regular review meetings and discusses programme priorities with the Belgian authorities. Funding approvals for each programme are made at the level of the Belgian ministry for Development Cooperation.

Belgium contributes to the ILO’s Regular Budget Supplementary Account (RBSA), providing un-earmarked voluntary contributions to increase the ILO's capacity to deliver on the priorities set out in the ILO’s Programme and Budget.

Belgium is currently funding eight ILO projects, including five projects in Southern Africa. In South Africa, the projects focus on the development of a social economy policy and job creation through the development of SMEs and sustainable enterprises. The government is also financing projects focussing on decent work and the care economy and workers' rights in globalizing economies.