ILO DWT for East and South-East Asia and the Pacific

East and South-East Asia and the Pacific, comprising the ASEAN Member States (Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao Peoples’ Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Viet Nam); the East Asian countries of China (including Hong Kong SAR and Macao SAR), the Republic of Korea and Mongolia; Timor-Leste, and the Pacific Island countries of Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, the Republic of Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and Vanuatu, is the most populous and diverse subregion in the world. It has more than a third of the world’s population, with levels of development ranging from Least Developed Countries (Cambodia and Lao People's Democratic Republic) to the highly industrialized nations of the Republic of Korea and Singapore, and from some of the most populous countries in the world (China and Indonesia) to the small Pacific island states.

In recent years East and South-East Asia and the Pacific has been a major driving force for global economic growth, and in particular has led the way to recovery from the Global Economic and Jobs Crisis, although the rates of growth within the subregion vary considerably. Systems of government in the subregion are equally diverse.

The primary objective of the ILO Decent Work Technical Support Team for East and South-East Asia and the Pacific (ILO DWT-Bangkok) is to provide technical support to the work of ILO Country Offices (Bangkok, Beijing, Hanoi, Jakarta, Manila and Suva) in assisting governments, employers' and workers' organizations in East and South-East Asia and the Pacific in their efforts to promote decent work. This technical support covers a wide range of specific subjects within the four core areas of the ILO’s mandate; these are rights at work, employment, social protection and social dialogue.